15 Anime and Manga I picked up in 2015

Kind of my way to end off 2015 even though it’s now 2016 (^_^; )

So just as the title says, I’ll be talking about 15 Anime and Manga I picked up in 2015. This will involve Anime that I started watching and/or were released/completed this year and Manga that I started reading, and/or completed reading around this time. About 8 are Anime while 7 are Manga so let’s begin!

Anime

Koufuku Graffiti

It’s all about the food! [and the foodgasms (^_^ )]

That’s basically all I can say other than very artistic food art and fan-service.

Assassination Classroom

To have an Octopus-looking species that plans to destroy earth in a year being your teacher and you and your class are humanity’s only hope is actually pretty interesting.

Though if that teacher is pretty funny, I would rather get along with it than kill it.

Shokugeki no Soma

Probably my most looked forward Anime of this year.

2 years before the Anime, I always imagined how their reactions would be when they cook and eat Soma’s dishes while reading the Manga. The Anime pulled it off and I can’t wait for them to continue to the next arc and hopefully, up to the part where the Manga is currently.

Houkago no Pleiades

5 girls from different universes must work together to locate an alien ship’s power source in the form of star candies.

When I first saw this as an ONA a few years ago, I got a little interest and hope that I would see an extended version at some point. With this being related to the ONA, it peaked my interest even more and sort of felt like it was an astronomy education video with anime characters. Still, it was a good one.

Akagami no Shirayukihime

From being a medicine woman in one Kingdom to becoming a court doctor in another, Shirayuki is pretty amazing both taking care of herself and others in many different situations. Sorta looking forward to the next season. (^_^ )

Shimoneta

For not being able to release my inner urges and tell dirty jokes, I’ll be gladly join those groups like SOX.

One-Punch Man

To kill everything in one punch is pretty amazing but if it was due to normal exercise and workout routines, that’s kinda stretching it a bit.

Still, being overpowered also have their weaknesses but according to Saitama, no weaknesses what-so-ever other than finding an opponent that can handle more than one punch.

Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka??

Being the second season of this Cuteness of a Food & Beverage service series, it’s great to see new characters like Mocha and rabbits like Wild Geese as well as recurring characters with either more development, and/or high cuddle factors (especially Rize haha).

Manga

Taiyou no Ie (House of the Sun)

I sort of picked this one up in the beginning of the year looking for something to read after reading a manga of a similar genre.

With 2 different families having personal problems, the main characters try to light up their mood by communicating and staying with each other till their problems are solved.

The feels in this one was pretty wow and I was in the shipping for certain characters and in the end turn out to be true. One of my favourites that I picked up.

Maga Tsuki

Thanks to a curse, the one who loves the main character the most takes his soul and must be touching each other in some sort of way or the main character dies.

This one is kinda funny. Main character is basically hilarious, the heroines have those typical traits of the usual harem, the other characters are decent, and story is pretty good.

Shomin Sample

To be the “only” chosen commoner male to teach ditsy rich girls about a commoner’s life and the real world might be a dream for many but the catch is you have to say you love macho men.

Truth be told, I started reading this without knowing the fact that an Anime version was being released in the fall season and that was around August. Story was okay, the characters were unique (in some ways), and it sort of kept my interest more than the Anime version.

Senakagurashi

2 people of opposite gender live in a complex with a wall of frosted glass in-between them. In this case, it’s make a new connection and getting along with each other.

Like Taiyou no Ie, I was also shipping for certain characters to be together and I really enjoyed the story right to the end.

Masamune-kun no Revenge

Instead of that typical “Boy meets Girl” type of story, this is completely the opposite. The main character wants to get revenge at the main heroine because of what happen in the past.

To be fixated over something like this usually leads to disaster yet so far (based on the current chapter I’m in), it’s going towards close protect her than revenge. I’ve probably watched/read something that was similar to this scenario but couldn’t remember and reading this was pretty interesting.

7th Garden

The story of a gardener who’s willing to protect his master even if it involves sacrifice his body to a demon and fighting against angels.

I recently picked it up around the time I finished my exams and reading it was pretty slow for me at first and then it started to get interesting as I continued.

Kiss X Death

When the only way to get alien fugitives that escaped and possess 5 human beings that killed yours is to possess a another human being and work together to capture these fugitives by kissing their possessed individuals and extracting them.

This is the last one I picked up within this year. I was looking for something to read after updating on Maga Tsuki and this was in recommendations. All I can say about this currently is that it’s interesting yet weird at the same time.

Questions for you all:

  1. What do you think of some of my pick ups?
  2. What Anime/Manga did you pick up in 2015?
  3. What Anime/Manga would you recommend/plan to see in 2016?

Anyways, hope you all have an amazing New Year!

Till Next Time!

– Fuuko

Leave a Reply

